Skip to content

Police Department - University of Illinois at Urbana - Champaign

Illinois Logo University of Illinois Police Department

Contact Us

To report a crime, suspicious activity or to request an officer:

Call 911 in an emergency

Call 217-333-1216 (TTY: 217-244-7209) for non-emergencies

For general inquiries:

Phone

217-333-1216

Fax

217-244-1979

Email

We cannot respond to emails immediately. Please call to report in-progress incidents that need a police response.
police@illinois.edu

Public Safety Building
1110 W. Springfield Ave
Urbana, IL 618o1

(Northeast corner of Goodwin and Springfield)

Report a Crime or Submit a Tip

For an urgent or criminal violation, call 911. For a non-emergency, call 217-333-1216. For more ways to report a crime, including anonymous tips, see Report a Crime.

Request SafeWalks

To request our courtesy SafeWalks service, call 217-333-1216. For hours of operation, see SafeWalks & SafeRides.

Provide Feedback

To issue a compliant or compliment, call 217-333-1216 to speak with a shift sergeant. For more information on feedback procedures, see Feedback.

Request a Presentation

To request a safety presentation for your group, complete the presentation form. For available classes and presentations, see Safety Classes & Presentations.

Talk to a Safety Expert

Need to speak to an expert about a safety situation? For a directory of professionals who can assist with incidents or questions, see Safety Experts.

Get Fingerprints

We offer fingerprinting services for employment and identification purposes. For pricing and hours, see Fingerprint Services.

Stay Informed

To subscribe to news, connect on social media and sign up for emergency alerts, see Stay Informed.

Ask Command Staff

Command staff lead and implement the mission and values of the department. They can be reached by email or by calling 217-333-1216.
– Police Chief Jeff Christensen: jchriste@illinois.edu
– Deputy Chief Tony Brown (Administration): ajbrown@illinois.edu
– Deputy Chief Matt Myrick (Operations): mamyrick@illinois.edu
– Lt. John Brown (Patrol): jpbrown@illinois.edu
– Lt. Joan Fiesta (Support Services): jmfiesta@illinois.edu
– Lt. Tom Geis (Investigations): tgeis@illinois.edu
– Lt. Joe McCullough (Patrol):  jmccull@illinois.edu
– Lt. Todd Short (Emergency Planning): tshort@illinois.edu